Shadow575

Personal Views and Opinions

Archive for May 30th, 2008

Dmoz: Personal Projects and Editor Initiatives

Posted by shadow575 on May 30, 2008

Well not much personally to report this past week. I managed to work through a lot more of my Indiana cleanup project. Guessing it was minimal, perhaps around 100-150 total edits but it was as much as I could squeeze in during an otherwise hectic real life week. I also managed a few quality control edits this week. To honor a good friend during their absence (which is about time to be over damn it!), I logged quite a few Kids and Teens quality control edits as well.

There are several good editor initiatives going on at the moment. One of the best ones, is trying to highlight a very important and well developed category. The category is for U.S. Presidential Candidates and was highlighted the other day at Resource-Zone in the “Inside the ODP” thread. Anyone interested in finding information on the candidates for this years Presidential Election, should check out the excellent work that has been done there.

Another thing that I noticed, was that the Official DMOZ Blog is still a mess. It’s a shame really.  There could be so much more accomplished with it.  If only there was some consistent, experienced input going into it. I know there are discussions going on to improve it, I hope someone figures out the best way to utilize that as a positive resource. Having it function up to its potential would be a big plus for the project. At the very least post something to remove that ugly strike through post, that is nearly impossible to follow.

I am sure I am forgetting some important ones. If any other editors have comments or projects that they think should be mentioned, by all means let me know. For now, I am off to work on the huge pile of real work I have pushed aside all morning.

Posted in AOL, DMOZ, Editor Initiatives, ODP, Open Directory, Personal Updates, resource-zone | Tagged: , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »